Peninsula Executives Association
Craig Calkins Memorial
Executive of the Year Award

The Board of Directors of PEA has established a way to honor the memory of one of our Founding Fathers, Craig Calkins. The special way we do this is by recognizing one of our members who best exemplifies those qualities and traits that made Craig such a vital spark in PEA and in the community. The Craig Calkins Memorial Executive of the Year Award is presented annually to the member that has contributed the most towards the growth and stature of PEA and the business community in general. The candidates considered must be involved in the activities of PEA and help the association obtain the goals and aims set forth in the by-laws. The recipient of this award may receive it only once.

The essence of these goals and aims is to maintain within PEA the highest level of business ethics, enhance the continual growth and prestige of PEA and its membership, and to add to the association’s capability of increasing the growth potential for all its members.

The following categories and criteria will be used in the selection of the recipient:

  • LEADS: Quality, quantity, consistency and follow-through.
  • NETWORKING: Meeting and participating with other firms for the purpose of developing additional business for their firm and member firms.
  • SERVICE: Serving on the Board of Directors, committees, special projects and working on other projects that would enhance the betterment of our community. Helping PEA members to better understand the principles of the association so they may be able to apply these principles to further increase their own business, as well as the business of other PEA members.
  • ATTENDANCE: Making a concerted effort to attend every meeting.
  • DEPORTMENT: Projecting a self-image beyond reproach.
  • QUALITIES: Support, enthusiasm, consistency, catalyst for others, inspiration, total dedication, commitment and empathy.

These were some of the special traits Craig shared with our organization. For those of us who knew him, he was a caring, humorous, and loving man. Honoring him in this way is a wonderful way to say “Thanks!” and to continue recognizing people who give as true leaders of PEA.

The recipient will receive an individual award, naming him or her as the Executive of the Year.

Previous Honorees

2022: Leane Reelfs, Helmings Auto Repair
2021: Angelo Izzo, California Business Opportunities
2020: Deanne Belcher, Home Care Assistance
2019: Mike Feller, Innovative Sales & Leasing
2018: Neal Coogler, All About Business Services
2017: Jon Maystrik, Arborwell Prof Tree Management
2016: Brian Irion, Law Offices of Brian Irion
2015: Susan Hannah, Arranged4Comfort
2014: Bobbie Fakkema, Events, Etc.
2013: Bob Rosenberg, GR8WORK Builders, Inc.
2012: Konrad Thaler, Smilin Dogs
2011: Karen Bowne, Sheraton Palo Alto
2010: Erik Jacobsen, Threestory Studio
2009: Dr. Leta Zwiebel, Psychologist
2008: Bette Asbra, Pro-Staff Painting
2007: Larry Moore, Larry’s AutoWorks
2006: Judy Johnson, Unexpected Treasures
2005: Rick Stern, Stern Mortgage
2004: Terry Trobough, Connoisseur Coffee
2003: Al Butner, Surgeon
2002: John King, Keller Williams Realty
2001: Madalyn Baker, Design & Interiors
2000: Susan Scott, Hair Stylist
1999: Dr. Chuck Fulanovich, Palo Alto Chiropractic
1998: Larry Hassett, Hassett Hardware
1997: Georgie Gleim, Gleim the Jeweler
1996: Sue Brauner, The Brauner Company
1995: Maureen Clark, Three Sixty HR
1994: Brad Brown, Brown Insurance Services
1993: Raul Lopez, Brown Clarkson
1992: Bob Marsden, New Life Printing
1991: Fritz Brauner, The Brauner Company
1990: Laurie Moore, Larry’s AutoWorks
1989: Dr. Don Miller, Family Dentistry
1988: Sharon Winston, Great Western Bank

In Memory of Craig Calkins

Craig Calkins Memorial Executive of the Year Award

1988: First Honoree

Sharon Winston

2022 Honoree

Leane Reelfs

Leane Reelfs